h1

Already?

January 7, 2012

I didn’t think we’d be having this discussion already, but we’re debating what to do with the stuff we have in storage.  Honestly, if I didn’t know that we could get money for at least some of it, and needed to fish out the sentimental stuff, I’d say just leave it.  The huge sectional couch?  It nearly killed us.  Much too comfortable, and only led to letting life happen around us while we watched the big screen TV and gained weight.  The nice bedroom set?  All the clothes we need fit in the tiny cabinets and closet here in the camper.   The aging computers?  Aside from the pictures and stuff on the hard drives, not much use now.  The kitchen gadgets–big food processor, bread machine, mixer, etc.  We don’t even eat bread now, but I do occasionally miss the food processor (like when I want to render kidney tallow or make coconut cream), and I can mix most anything either by hand or with my stick blender.  Audrey has outgrown a number of the toys in storage in just these past few months–heck, her toy box in the camper gets little use.  She has found much more joy in our frequent library trips than her stack of books in storage.  Do princesses wear hiking boots?  Heck yea.  We don’t have a yard to mow or blow, so the mower and blower….  You get the gist.  I think the only reason why we didn’t liquidate these things in the first place was that we weren’t entirely sure this would be what we wanted to do.  It is, at least so far, and now…the weight of the storage payments are starting to feel like dead weight.  ::sigh::  I’ve had my moments–the dreary, rainy, windy, cold days don’t make me love this life.  The freedom however keeps me in check.  Sure, we can’t just go wherever we want tomorrow, but we will eventually, and living without certain luxuries has been eye opening and wonderful in it’s own way.  Walking in the cold rain to get laundry from the bath house–yeah, I miss our washer and dryer, but I don’t miss the weight I’ve lost (and strength gained) since having to be more physical in the day to day.  Trying to entertain Audrey when I’m busy with housecamperwork but being outside is not an option–a pain, but necessary, and I’ve moved to more educational options than just turning on Nick Jr. and hoping she doesn’t want the newest kid fad toys that she sees in the commercials.  Her Christmas list this year was a bicycle, slippers, a doll (that looks like her, that was a bit of a challenge since she has brown hair and blue eyes) and chapstick.  Taking a bag of trash up to the dumpster is an adventure.  We went on a short hike to another area of the state park on our way back from the dumpster, and discovered purple clay (Audrey’s favorite color) while walking back on the shoreline.  It was educational for me too, apparently purple clay is revered in Chinese culture and used to make adored and expensive teapots.

We also desire outside events and adventures more often, and seek them out.  I’ve learned a lot more about the area we’re in than in the entire year we spent here renting a house.  I guess that says something for the damage “the feed” does…

3 comments

  1. I have a Cuisinart blender and food processor that’s awesome- it’s the Smart Power Duet. It uses one base and you switch out the blender and processor. Not sure if you have the room, but it’s awesome- we just leave the blender on the counter on the base and store the processor in a drawer. http://www.cuisinart.com/products/blenders/bfp-703.html


    • That’s pretty awesome! I have a tiny Cuisinart mini prep food processor, but it gets hot and seems about to die anytime I do anything other than dice veggies. Is the motor on that pretty powerful? I made gyro the other day–the ground lamb, beef, and onion need to be thoroughly mixed in a food processor until it’s tacky so it has the right texture. I did it in small batches, and while it certainly wasn’t meatloaf texture, it still wasn’t as awesome as when I made it with the big food processor. I’ve been sacrificing a ton of space in our tiny freezer for the grass fed beef tallow I got on sale from our CSA, mainly because I’m afraid I’ll burn out the little food processor trying to mince it fine enough to render.


      • Yeah, the motor is good…capable of crushing ice in the blender. The processor’s not as big as a regular one, but bigger than the mini prep kind of thing. We love it for space-saving purposes too.



Leave a Reply

